He had a voice like Chocolate…

Back in my uni days, a certain bank opened a mini-branch within the campus to encourage students open accounts with them.  I took advantage of the opportunity, and in the process applied for an ATM card which had to be collected at the bank’s HQ in town.  

On getting to HQ, I put on my best formal air, made my inquiries for the atm collection point, and was directed to a gentleman at the customer care desk.  Still in “lady mode”, I repeated my request.  

When the gentleman at the desk replied, a chill went down my spine… I was cold for a second, then I was hot.  He asked me to sit down, I promptly obeyed.  When he asked a few questions, I either answered very quietly or noded as my frozen reflexes allowed.  My head was bowed while I looked up and peered at him (Imagine Puss in boots…) As I waited for him to process my request I began to scrible one word in the notebook I always took around with me.


Chocolate.

It finally struck me why I was acting dumb and almost childlike before this guy.  I was used to being attracted to people because of vain reasons such as their eyes, mouths, physiques, heights, and the like, but never, never had I been enchanted by someone’s voice.  It was very, very, deep, but it was clear and very, very soothing.  And the only word that rang in my head the whole time was chocolate. His voice was like chocolate.

He was talking to me again.  Asking for a sample of my signature.  I gave it to him and he observed that what I gave him was different from the one I had given them earlier when opening the account. Shoot, my shaky hands betrayed me!  Anyways I gave a feeble smile and he handed my ATM card over to me.  

Did I mention that he was also good looking? :p

Soon I was out of the bank and smiling at my stupidity.  I don’t think he noticed anything the whole 15 minutes that I was there, but I didn’t mind, all the better.  It was a first time experience, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.  Since I didn’t know his name I decided to name him chocolate.

Believe it or not, two years later I was introduced to “Chocolate” through a mutual friend.  I told my sisters about him the first time so you can imagine our squeals of delight when they found out we met.  Yes, I enjoyed it each time he spoke. Yes I was [almost] speeechless each time I heard him.  No I never drooled, and no, I never told him. Its better that way – somethings are better left uncrushed!


8 thoughts on “He had a voice like Chocolate…

  1. I was curious if you ever thought of changing the page layout
    of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to
    say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could
    connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

    Like

    1. Thanks for dropping by; I did change it several times since I wrote that particular post… I’ve tried to make it more interesting with pictures in subsequent posts and I hope I’ve gotten better with it as time as passed by.
      Your critique was most constructive. Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

