Dancing like David: Finding SoD

About two years ago I was looking through a newspaper – can’t remember what publication – and I saw what looked like an advert.  Right on top of the page was the title “Spirit of David presents Celebrity takes Two”, with a few celebrities showing in it.  It was part of a publicity stunt for  their reality dance show which was being aired on TV.  I remember watching it a few times but never kept up – either due to PHCN or being in school (Yes, some of us didn’t have TV in our hostels!).  I loved the concept but what kind of organization was called “Spirit of David”???  I was curious and made a note to check the organization out.Official SOD logo

Fast forward several months (or was it almost a year later?) I had graduated and was recovering from the after-effects of executing my X4E (Christmas for Everyone) annual concert.  As usual I was trying to overcome my perfectionist side which was not particularly happy with the outcome of the event (don’t ask why).  I was also looking for new stuff to do (I’m always trying out  things to keep my life as colorful as possible) so the next time I was on the Internet, I decided to google Spirit of David.  What I found sent a shiver down my spine, and I jotted down two phone numbers and quickly sent enquiry text messages. 

Fast forward again, a few months.  I was in Lagos, the city of blinding lights (in generator-powered areas).  I was deleting old sms from my outbox and I noticed the ones I sent to SoD.  Since they were months old  and I never got a reply,  I sadly deleted them.

You wont believe it but a few weeks later I received an sms from guess who: SoD!  They were running interviews and invited me.  I was shocked and excited!  So all those months of waiting and they ACTUALLY KEPT MY NUMBER! 😀

And that was how I found SoD.  I didn’t think I’d be admitted because I was no dancer, but they did.  A year later and I’m still in, slowly learning the steps, getting used to the dance floor, and most importantly, experiencing fellowship that gets better and better everyday.

I’d be spoiling your appetite by giving you all the

details.  All I can say is that it was never what I expected because it’s much more than what I imagined…  If you want to know what I found out click here.

Today, a Team of 24 members will be taking off in a few hours touring France, Spain, Germany and The Netherlands.  They are the WHOOSH TEAM and they will be using dance to drive home a message…

We are celebrating our 15th anniversary this year, woohoo!  This will be at our annual October 1st show, and its titled “15”.  Stay tuned(on my twitter page) to buy tickets as soon as they’re hot, you don’t want to miss this show!   

The story continues…

5 thoughts on “Dancing like David: Finding SoD

  1. Nice and congratulations. and Noolah, it is always exciiting and refreshing reading your blog. Its exciting and simply excellent. Grat job

    Like

  2. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am inspired!
    Very helpful info specifically the closing part 🙂 I take care of such info much.
    I used to be seeking this certain info for a long time.
    Thanks and best of luck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

