The World Ends Today

The flow of taunts, jokes, opinions and news about doomsday continues, and as I read with keen interest and smile along the way, I don’t find the idea totally humorous.  Why is this you may ask?

Well, before y’all met me – this optimistic, strong and beautiful (:D) lady, I was a pessimistic doomsday prophetess! Yup, you heard me right.  And I prophesied my own end.

I don’t know where I got the idea from, but as a kid I never thought I would live to see past my high school. Honest!  Sure I had my aspirations and my “What I want to be when I grow up” story, but some dark part of me told me never to expect it.

Well, if that were true, I wouldn’t be here writing this post now, would I?  Its been over a decade and my doomsday didn’t occur (Phew!).  Maybe it came in different forms and faces, but not in the way I thought it would be.

LESSON: The world WILL end, but on a day and at a time that we all do not expect.

When I talk about doomsday coming in different forms and faces, I refer to days that we had our lives transformed by life changing events. A heartbreak for example.  Or the death of a loved one.   Even the day one becomes a Born Again Christian and finally believes in a Higher Being and higher purpose.  What other examples are there?  The thing is, there are times in one’s life when you feel your world has ended and you cannot go on.  It is this category of people I am thinking about today.

People whose relationships and marriages will end today.

People who are dying and who will die from illnesses, accidents, suicide bombers/murderers, and other catastrophes today

People who have lost all hope in life, due to unfulfilled hopes and dreams. Those who have no one to encourage them and give them hope for a better tomorrow.

So I think the world is ending today for the heartbroken, dying, lost and despaired.  And for as long as these kind of people exist, the world will continue to end for millions all around the world, every single day.

Each day is a “mini-doomsday” for someone, somewhere.

I sympathize with all those people who are in these and other situations, people who don’t have a chance like us to laugh about the joke of the Mayan theory.

Think about it.

Leave a Reply

