Be Yourself!

I was watching last year’s MTV Movie Awards last night and was basically just enjoying the entertainment, when for the first time, a “Trailblazer” award was being presented to Emma Stone.  To be honest I don’t know her, and am yet to go through her list of movies to see if I’ve watched any, but something about the award presentation intrigued me.

Emma Stone

First of all there was a video clip where her colleagues and friends had a thing or two to say about her, after which she was presented with the award. She now gave her own speech, which I thought was very insightful.  Excerpts:

“…Those people are my creative trailblazers, but I’m not following any of their paths, and what’s incredible about them is they help make me want to be more myself because they’re all originals… I hope that you’ll find your trailblazers… trust me, I do not need to be one of them. I probably shouldn’t be one of them… that you’ll continue to harness your own originality and what makes you unique ’cause I know that… what sets you apart can sometimes feel like a burden and it’s not. And a lot of the time, it’s what makes you great…”

Isn’t it a relief to know that often times it is good better to be yourself?  You might not be socially accepted as “normal” but when you accept yourself, the whole world will see you just as you see yourself, and will respect you for it too!

And so I am urging you out there: don’t freak out because you don’t act or talk like your friends, or even like what they like. Accept your individuality, your uniqueness.  It may feel like a burden because people don’t understand you at the moment, and sometimes you don’t understand yourself (I don’t understand myself either!) but as long as you are not hurting yourself or anybody, there is nothing to fear. Believe me, it’s the unique ones that stand out, that become the movers and shakers of this world, the trailblazers, just like Emma stone.

So despair not. Prepare to be great: be yourself! 😉

6 thoughts on “Be Yourself!

  1. Nobody can be you. And no one can do what you’re sent on earth to do. So if you dont be yourself then all the achievement, people’s lifes 2 affect, mountain 2 move, and deals 2 be completed by you wil be undone. Thanks Nuala 4 the reminder.

    Like

Leave a Reply

