The Confessor

“Wait, but where are you going to?”  Lola asked, sounding worried.
“I don’t know yet.  I don’t care at the moment.  I’ll figure it out when I get to the airport” Ada replied.  She was tired and even she could hear it in her voice.

“Don’t you think you should just stay, think this over?  You’re upset and all, which I totally understand… I can come spend the weekend you know , just say the word”

Ada sighed.  Even though Lola was like a sister to her and her company would instantly make her feel better, she didn’t want that.  All she wanted to do was get lost forever, and never be found.

“No thanks, Lo.  I’ll be fine.  I’ll call you when I make up my mind, just to let you know I’m safe”
“You’d better be, or I’ll launch a search party for you! Damn Femi for doing this to you! How could he –  “

Ada interrupted her before the pity party started.  “Um, girl, I gotta go. My driver just pulled up to take me to the airport.  I’ll talk to you later”
“Um, okay. Love you. Later” *Click*.

On the drive to the airport, Ada curled her feet beneath her and stared at nothing. She was numb.  Lola was right, Damn Femi!  Damn him a million times to hell!! How could he do this to her? The pain was just too much to bear.  Her phone was still buzzing from his missed calls. She had no intention of picking any calls, his most especially.  She needed the space to think.  She still hadn’t made up her mind on where she was going to, but the last thing she wanted was to be breathing the same air with the man whom she loved so much but was obviously wasting her time with….

“Ma, we’re at the airport.  Madam… Madam?”  The driver peered through the rear view mirror, his eyes looking worried.  Whatever his kind madam was going through must be bad; her eyes were wide open but it was like she didn’t posses her body… he had heard her crying shortly before they left her house.

“I’m sorry Thomas, you were saying?”
“Should I help to buy your ticket?”
“No thank you, I’ll do that once I get in.”

As Thomas went round to open the door for her to alight, Ada uncurled herself and stretched (Femi always called her his cuddly cat, she thought).  As she dabbed on some lip gloss and wore her dark shades she hoped she wouldn’t look too stressed.  The door opened and she stared again.  Her heart skipped for what felt like eternity, and she had to take a deep breath to put herself together.

What was she doing?  Was she overreacting?  Where would she go?  She was afraid of this radical act of hers – always being the logical one – but she needed to do this to clear her head.

Inhale. Exhale. Right leg out.  Left leg out. Stand. collect suitcase. keep walking.  Take a step at a time, she whispered.

She smiled at Thomas as she reached out for her suitcase.  “Don’t worry, I’ll take it from here.” Make sure to give the keys to Nonso when he comes, okay?”  As much as she cherished her Skoda Yeti, she didn’t care if Nonso, her happy-go-lucky monster-of-a-baby-brother crashed it.  He was totally overjoyed when she had called asked him to come over in the evening and drive it back to his place while she was away.  She should have warned him not to ruin the interior with his atrocious activities, but.

Ma, it seems you forgot your handset in the car… let me get it for you”

“No, don’t worry.  Just leave it on the dinning table in the house.  I don’t need it for this trip”.

Thomas looked puzzled, but she smiled again, waved him goodbye and walked into the busy airport.

*** To be continued ***

10 thoughts on “The Confessor

  1. Wow!!!! This is in a different fashion. I can’t wait for you to finish the story. Am glued to my system…….. Its quite awhile Nuala, how you doing? sure you are cool dear.

    Like

Leave a Reply

