NaPoWriMo & Beginner’s Poetry

Isn’t that the oddest acronym ever?

NaPoWriMo is short for National Poem Writing Month.  No it is not a Nigerian contest. No I don’t think anyone gets any prize. Yes I am just joining for the fun of it in the hopes that my poem writing skills will not only come alive but will get better.  I did have a good collection of poetry but lost them in one of those ancient floppy disks (Afterwards I started making hard copies of everything I wrote!).

Poetry is a very good way to express one’s self.  Despite the fast life here I have still found moments of inspiration, but have been unable to get it out.  Maybe reading other’s poetry and looking for more inspirational tips will get me back on track.

If you have any tips on how to help me improve my poetry please do so, and any constructive criticisms will be highly welcome.   This is Naprwrimo 2014, and here is my first poem, fashioned after a haiku:

It’s very cold here.

In the Valley of Darkness

I wait patiently.

I can’t wait to hear what you think about it! I know it sounds dark (couldn’t  help it, lol), but I’m pretty sure it will get brighter along the way!  And keep your fingers crossed so I don’t get a dry spell, or that would be the end of it and we wouldn’t want that, would we?

  

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo & Beginner’s Poetry

  1. I always admire bloggers who take up these challenges since I have so little patience (and willpower) for them. Maybe one day! Looking forward to seeing more of your poems! I like haikus, they’re short and to the point. 🙂

    Like

    1. It’s one thing to take up a challenge and an entirely different thing to keep to it till the end, I certainly hope I have the steam to do that. It took me a while to understand haikus, but now that I do, I can see the efficiency behind them, lol! Thanks for the support… Here goes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

