My Birthday Weekend :)

My birthday was in May, yay me!

I didn’t celebrate it per se, but I had waaaay more fun than if I did, I think.

Last year I had a few drinks with a few colleagues and friends (And it was the oddest group ever put together even though we had fun!)… the climax of that hang out was when I walked into a glass door.  Yes people, I did. No I was not drunk, but I was answering a phone call and I really thought the door was open! When I hit the door i saw utter darkness for a few seconds… haha!  I got a tiny bump which my friends bathed in ice and Immediately afterwards the management put a sign on the door to prevent a future occurrence (they had been told to do that before but didn’t) we kept up with the hang out and had fun… I even caught my colleague reenacting the scene later, but I don’t blame her – it must have been an epic sight, lol.

Back to this year.

I was positive that I didn’t want to celebrate.  I thought long about going to visit an orphanage but my lazy bum didn’t work on it fast enough. Its a project I’ll have to put away for the nearest future.  However it fell on an event packed weekend which I thoroughly enjoyed! Here’s a recap:

image
At The Garage, you’re allowed to bring your own drinks and then buy mixers…

THURSDAY: KIZOMBA DANCE CLASS

Since the next day (Friday) was going to be May Day and as such a public holiday, I went for drinks and dance classes at The Garage. It holds from 7-9 but was so much fun that we stayed longer! It was beginners class so the instructors were careful to repeat steps where necessary. It was also easy to learn and was a great learning experience. I met fun people and got great compliments for being a good dancer considering I was a beginner! It’s something I’ll definitely want to keep doing.

FRIDAY: DAY AT THE MALL
image

image
My nephew chasing after a toy train moving around the mall, lol

Since my cousin came to town to visit I hadn’t any time for her, so we decided to spend May Day at the mall. We shopped a bit, window shopped a lot, ate and goofed around. It was a good, laid back day spent with family.

image
Sisters and one baby boy

 

image
I’m going to fly away in this jet, just wait and see!

 

image

image
Say Cheese!

 

image
Ice Cream, YUM!

 

image
I don’t know what I said to make her smile that way!

SATURDAY: MY BIRTHDAY!
🙂
It felt good getting lots and lots of goodwill from friends and family, but I didn’t focus on it for long cause I was going to spend the day celebrating others; a friend’s wedding and another’s birthday…
The wedding was lots of fun and lasted all day with great music and dancing.

image
Sister Sister
image
Car Selfie & Photo Bomb in one!
image
Waiting for Food! The center-piece is lovely, don’t you think so?
image
My brother-in-law and Anchor for the wedding – Senator the Comedian
image
The stage all set up for the couple, and their wedding cake.. Too far a shot, sorry!

image

The birthday party which took place at the beach and lasted almost all night was even more fun! My battery was dead at this point so I couldn’t take any pictures 😦

image
Betty and I

SUNDAY: BEACH HANGOUT
phew, are you still with me? Keep up! 😉
Cuz still hadn’t been to any beach since her arrival so yours truly volunteered to do her the honors.
I took her to the beach in our “backyard” which is about a 10 minute drive and a 5 minute boat ride away from our home.
As tired as I was from the previous days activities I was glad to go to the beach; I always get a burst of energy and inspiration from the air and waves. This beach is usually a quiet and clean one but that day was unusually full and the shores had dead plankton which was ewwy. That didn’t stop us from having fun though!

image
Not so perfect feet selfie!
image
Really strong waves here, great cloud cover too!

 

image
I really look like a blowfish here, lol!

 

image

image
More goofing around!

 

image
Rasta man eating a coconut he bought from the island. Wise man, he is.

 

image

image
That was the wing getting into my face. It was so fast I couldnt keep anything on!

 

So that’s how I spent my birthday weekend. Happy birthday and a big shout out to all them May babies out there, how did you spend your day?

2 thoughts on “My Birthday Weekend :)

  1. Happy belated birthday! It’s often the birthdays when we don’t plan on doing anything special that end up being so much better than we expected, isn’t it? I had a similar experience two birthdays ago and it’s always nice when lots of different things come together to culminate in a more-than-one-day celebration. 🙂 Your pictures look so fun and you look fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Lillian, it was really an awesome weekend! Save for the Lagos heat I felt fantastic too! I really should try being more laid back about my birthday plans – I guess its all in the mind and in the approach; everything will fall into place! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

