I am buying my car

Very soon.  I think it’s about time I bought a car.

Two weeks ago I hopped on a bike. Before I dropped off, the well dressed driver made two attempts to ask for my phone number. I ignored the man and took off as quickly as I could before he would decide to park and follow me.

Yeah, I’m hot like that.

Last Friday I got into a keke heading to work. I was the first to get into it but as a woman with a baby on her back and a toddler in one hand came to complete the fourth and last seat in front, the driver asked me to take her place, giving the mother my more comfortable seat. In split seconds I excused him for picking me instead of the other two guys: my trip wasn’t too far compared to the others. I obliged. Not long after we took off, Mr. keke driver was asking me where I work so he could come pay me a visit. This time I told him a flat-out “No”, even when he offered to divert (with the other passengers) to drop me at a closer bus stop than I’d asked. I wonder what those at the back would be thinking.  I’d be laughing if I saw this happen to someone else, but I wasn’t laughing cause this was me!

Just yesterday I was finding my way through that sort of traffic that is vehicles+motorcycles+pedestrians and one aboki decides to blow me a loud-sounding smacking kiss!  This time I laughed. When you’re that hot sometimes you have to deal with the bees and the flies (sorry guys, no offence).

Now that I think about it, isn’t this a sign from the Most High that I have paid my dues to the public transport sector and its time to elevate to the private sector?  I mean, I’ve put up with guys of all characters hitting on me.  I’ve endured having my dresses or pants torn by knackered bus seats.  I swam the waters when the buses got stuck in potholes during seasons of flood. Brothers and sisters, I have paid my dues and it is time to elevate.

Elevateeeeee I say! Can I hear an amen?

See, I used to think buying a car was a luxury, but not in Lagos. No sir! I have long been baptised from that school of thought. The economist theory will tell you that a car is a liability because from the moment you buy a car it begins to deteriorate and you’ll always have to spend money maintaining it. I remember passing lots of fancy and not-so-fancy cars in traffic and saying to myself: “See these people, am I not better than they are?  Will I not reach home before them?  No need to buy a car jare!”  and I will ride off into the sunset on my iron horse.  This is what is referred to as “Poverty mentality” and I begin to rebuke it now in Jesus name!

Can I hear an amen?

Thank you.

Now that I’ve made up my mind, its unto the next challenge: telling the difference between a Toyota and a Honda.  Problems, problems. Sigh.

……………………………………

Keke: Nigerian slang for a Tricycle

Aboki: Hausa word meaning “friend”; slang referring to a Northern menial worker or bike driver

Jare: Nigerian slang indicating nonchalance

Featured picture courtesy of google image search.

Do you have keke, bike or bus selfies you want to share?  Tag me @noolz_ on IG!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

12 thoughts on “I am buying my car

  1. Amen! Amen!! Amen!!!. Seriously my sis nah poverty mentality makes cars a luxury ooo, car is a most have for all. Its cos of our roads dat sometimes makes cars a waste of time possession. Car helps one to avoid some insults & embarrassments. I join you to say I must get my own car soon IJN. I say a powerful Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In fact it’s not only the mentality, it’s the economy and yes, the bad roads that make us think twice about buying a car. 1. Are you paid well enough to afford a car? 2. Can you afford a brand new or 2nd hand car? 3. Can it withstand the roads on the route you take daily? 4. Can you endure the traffic you’ll get stuck in? So many issues to consider, but I think these are better compared to fending off okada and keke drivers on the daily, haha! How are you though, it’s been a while. Thanks for stopping by, keep your head up and please invite me when it’s time to wash the car!

      Like

  2. Well based on your photos of yourself, I can see why you would be so popular! 😉 But I agree, it sounds like you’ve given public transport more than enough chances. I don’t know if it’s the same in Nigeria but at least in the U.S., Honda tends to be slightly pricier than Toyota. I drive a Toyota myself and have found it to be lighter than driving a Honda. However, if the roads are rough and you frequently need to drive uphill or down, you might want something a bit sturdier. Just my two cents. P.S. I like what you’ve done with your blog theme!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the compliments Lillian! *blushes*. Yes I think there comes a time when you’ve just had enough of a situation and deep down you know something has to give. Lagos, because of its high commercial nature, offers alot of opportunities which also has its challenges. However with careful planning, you can live the life you want. The distance between my office and residence due to traffic played a major role in my previous decision but I’m willing to compromise now, haha!
      I know almost nothing about cars so any information is highly appreciated! Not sure about price but I heard the Honda is heavier and consumes more fuel than Toyota. Our roads are quite rough (and this is an understatement) so I will have to consider that too.
      I’m glad you stopped by, Nigerian humor can be annoying if you don’t know either pidgin or her way of life but somehow you see past that in my posts and understand where I’m coming from. I really appreciate this! 😊 This is becoming a blog post so I’d better run off #okbye

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have been trying to log in for so long but my internet would not let me…so glad i finally logged in.Love this possible,very hilarious and entertaining.Amen oooo…We will buy our car,it has become a necessity and not just a luxury.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed reading, thank you Bhummie! :). As a pretty lady I’m sure you’ve had your own fair share of episodes. Just last night, after I’d published this post and was heading home, the driver of the shuttle bus I took said he was looking for someone to marry, that his fiancee had gone abroad and married someone else while he was waiting for her and now that he’d seen me, he wanted us to ‘start something’. I was like “Ah, PAPA!!” lol. Exciting times, I must say.
      So yes, we will buy our cars, Cheers to flat tires and scratched bumpers in the nearest future!!

      Like

  4. First of all I say a big AMEN o. Secondly Lwkmd writing brings out all the humor in your system. But seriously we nid dat car ooo. The aboki part made me laff so hard. I wud hv said kaaaaiii to d guy or “wawa” hehehe

    Liked by 1 person

      1. He does?!? Haha… Oh that’s nice. I heard Navy town was really cool back then. I still think it is(except for the chaotic traffic surrounding it). I love to watch the officers in their crisp white uniforms on their way to work. Such smart people!

        Like

Leave a Reply

